chicagozuloo.blogg.se

Carrion flies
Carrion flies




carrion flies

I realized instantly that the dead rats had become a breeding ground for blowflies. Two weeks later, I came home from a trip and opened the door to Flymageddon. I had toughed out the stink, and the worst was past. “Can’t find ’em.” Soon, my basement took on a new odor: eau de dead rat.įor the next week, I slept with my windows wide open for fresh air, and the flimsy lock on my bedroom door set against possible intruders.īut the gnawing stopped. An exterminator poked around up there, and shrugged.

carrion flies

#CARRION FLIES FREE#

Not only is rat poison bad for the environment and wildlife, but this tactic also left the sated rats free to scurry into some far corner of the ceiling space to die. My next step was to push little green blocks of rat poison into the ceiling space behind the recessed lights. Eventually, it didn’t matter how much Febreze I sprayed we had hit, as I called it, RATCON 5. But then the entire basement began to smell of rat urine, which turns out to smell a lot like people urine. The steady crunch-crunch of rat teeth on rafters didn’t bother me much at first I just turned up the volume on the TV. It all started with a gnawing sound in my basement, in the ceiling above the family room. Carrion flies, if you’re not familiar, are the kind that lay their eggs on dead things. Then I found myself in my car one night with the headlights aimed at my back door, hoping to lure a swarm of carrion flies out of the house. At the time, they were my biggest problem. I killed the rats in my basement ceiling.






Carrion flies